Mississippi isn't alone in not ratifying amendments

The 16th Amendment, which establishes the federal income tax, has not been ratified by four states.

People were amused, horrified and shocked a couple weeks ago after learning that Mississippi only just ratified the 13th Amendment outlawing slavery on Feb. 7.

But it turns out there are plenty of states that haven't ratified amendments we tend to take for granted.

More from MSN: Video: Mississippi formally ratifies 13 Amendment banning slavery

NPR reported that the 16th Amendment, establishing the federal income tax, has not been ratified by four states — Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont and Utah.

And, NPR reported, Massachusetts, Georgia and Connecticut didn't ratify any of the first 10 amendments until 1939.


But that doesn't delegitimize any of these amendments. Even Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont and Utah pay their federal income taxes come April.

After an amendment is approved by Congress, only three-fourths of the states need to ratify it to make it official.

The Equal Rights Amendment, which would guarantee equal rights for women, remains unratified in 15 states and has failed to get into the Constitution. According to the National Organization for Women, the states that have not ratified it are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah and Virginia.

In recent times, NPR reported, many states that formerly withheld ratification jumped in to ratify amendments that already made it into the Constitution. This sometimes happens when an amendment that used to be controversial — such as abolishing slavery — is no longer seen as divisive.


MSN News on Facebook and Twitter

Stay up to date on breaking news and current events.

Friend us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/news.msn

Follow us on Twitter: www.twitter.com/msnnews