Posey and Cabrera win NL and AL MVPs

Giants' Catcher Buster Posey was the favorite to win National League Most Valuable Player, which he did on Thursday. Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera edged out the Angels' outfielder Mike Trout for AL MVP.

NEW YORK — Buster Posey of the San Francisco Giants was voted the MLB's National League Most Valuable Player on Thursday after returning from a devastating leg injury and becoming the first catcher in 70 years to win the league's batting title.

Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers has just been announced as the American League's MVP for the 2012 Major League Baseball season.




Posey received 27 of 32 first-place votes and 422 points from the Baseball Writers' Association of America, outdistancing 2011 winner Ryan Braun of Milwaukee, who was second with 285 points.

Pittsburgh outfielder Andrew McCutchen (245) was third, followed by St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina (241).

The AL MVP was to be announced later Thursday.

The 2010 NL Rookie of the Year, Posey set career highs with a .336 average, 24 homers and 103 RBIs for the World Series champion Giants. His 2011 season was cut short by a collision with the Marlins' Scott Cousins on May 25 that resulted in a fractured bone in Posey's lower left leg and three torn ankle ligaments.

Posey, the fifth overall pick in the 2008 amateur draft, won the NL batting title after teammate Melky Cabrera requested a rules change that disqualified him. Cabrera, who hit .346, missed the final 45 games of the regular-season while serving a suspension for a positive testosterone test and would have won the batting crown if the rule hadn't been changed.

Ernie Lombardi had been the previous catcher to capture the NL batting championship, in 1942.

Catchers have won the NL MVP just eight times, with Posey joining Gabby Hartnett (1935), Lombardi (1938), Roy Campanella (1951, 1953, 1955) and Johnny Bench (1970, 1972). The other winning catchers were Lombardi in 1938 and Gabby Hartnett in 1935.

Posey is the first Giants player to win since Barry Bonds was voted his record seventh MVP award in 2004.




Cabrera, the first player to win the Triple Crown in 45 years, won the American League's Most Valuable Player award on Thursday for the 2012 Major League Baseball season.

Cabrera became the first player since Carl Yastrzemski of the Boston Red Sox in 1967 to win the Triple Crown, leading the league in the three top traditional offensive categories with a .330 batting average, 44 home runs, and 139 runs batted in.

Combining the brute power of a slugger and the finesse of a leadoff hitter, Cabrera registered his historic season despite making a shift in position, moving from first base to third in order to make room for free agent Prince Fielder.

The 29-year-old Cabrera came on strong at the end of the season to help the Tigers overcome a sluggish start to overtake the Chicago White Sox and win the AL Central title on their way to a trip to the World Series.

Cabrera added another historical note with his victory, becoming the first Venezuelan to win the coveted MVP award, the most cherished individual honor in Major League Baseball.

The Tiger third baseman collected 22 of 28 first-place votes for a comfortable victory over Rookie of the Year, Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels, who got the other six first-place votes in balloting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.